you're reading...
Ethics, Lasso of truth, medical mythbusters, Politics and medicine

Use your privilege and share one factual post on health every day

I admit I have been in a bit of a fugue since the election. The months before felt like one big game of whack-a-mole with lies about health care coming fast and furious from our now President Elect and his minions. Many in the press did not help. The media created headlines that offered the possibility of conflict or concern where none existed. It was a fantastic display of false equivalence. Sometimes the truth was buried in the article, but four paragraphs in is basically Siberia as about 40% of people report they only read the headlines. On Facebook 70% of people only read the headline of a science study before sharing. So we saw headlines like this leading up to the election:

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-6-51-11-am

From NBC

However, Clinton didn’t faint she had a near faint. Most of the time this is benign (i.e. not a health “scare”), but why ask anyone who might know? There is even less cause for concern for a woman who had been investigated previously for fainting, but hey why bother with facts?!

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-6-50-56-am

From Washington Post

Donald Trump basically released no health information, but Clinton’s campaign was paranoid. Then again Clinton released 38 years of taxes and Trump released nothing. If Clinton hadn’t released her tax returns no one would have known what she made in speeches. The press harped about her speeches and yet we are just now after the election learning about the vast conflicts of interest that come with our President Elect.

And this this headline…

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-6-48-14-am

To be fair most journalists have no control of headlines, but remember it’s the headlines that count. The only passionate things Trump said about abortion at that debate were lies. The headline should have been, “Trump lies about abortion in front of the nation.”

And then this from today…

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-7-10-26-am

Headlines are going to be even more of an issue when the President Elect speaks in lies.

Apparently we can’t make those headlines go away because they get page clicks, so what can we do?

The solution to pollution is dilution

When there is a dirty wound full of bacteria the first step is to rinse the area as many times as possible with water. Fewer bacteria means a lower risk of infection. To do the same with news we need more accurate headlines as well as more accurate news.

How do you know what is good and what is fake?

That’s a tough one, but I’m upping my committing to be an agent of information. I’m going to do my best to post seven days a week. I have a job and kids and a life so I can’t churn out seven original posts a week, but I do read enough every day that I can post here what I’m reading and a short blurb on why it’s worth while. I’m going to invest time in reading how best to present information to effect change. For example, telling parents how safe vaccines are and how vaccines don’t cause autism doesn’t change minds, however, presenting information about how dangerous measles really is can increase positive beliefs about vaccines. Right now I’m just committing to health quality and quantity, but I am hoping to profile some of the health journalists who I have worked with over the years who I have come to trust that way if you see their work you can be more confident in sharing.

Is this a fool’s errand? Well, if misinformation can spread so can information we just have to commit to it. When I first started blogging I didn’t know how many people I’d reach, but in the five years my posts have been viewed almost 12 million times. It takes time to build a following, but I believe if people come to view you as a source of valuable information they will be more likely to click your links whether it’s a post you wrote on a blog or one you are sharing on Facebook. I have friends in private Facebook groups who regularly share my posts and tell me they have changed minds about topics from HPV vaccine safety to sex selective abortion. Sharing takes two clicks. Literally. Maybe 10 seconds out of your day.

So if you are upset about the election or about misinformation about women’s health care or about bad health information online extend your privilege and commit to sharing one post a day on social media. It’s time for us to all collectively stop moaning about Facebook and fake news and actively work to dilute it.

Here’s hoping you are with me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Use your privilege and share one factual post on health every day

  1. Both Brexit and Trump make it clear that we are in a ‘post-truth’ society, that is, where logic and rationality is beaten by emotion. If you want to win a referendum or become POTUS then appeal to emotion and downplay the facts (and deride ‘experts’).

    We also live in a ‘false news’ society where such ‘news’ is spread primarily, it seems, through social media. (And as I was composing this response, I saw you on Twitter trying to explain the impossibility of removing mercury from vaccines when there is no mercury present.)

    Perhaps dilution is a route to counteracting all this guff; if so, I wish you luck!

    Posted by korhomme | November 28, 2016, 11:43 pm
  2. I’m with you.

    Posted by bethhavey | November 29, 2016, 8:02 am
  3. I’m with you, albeit, with some despair. I am certain that no amount of logic or truth will ever be accepted, or even read, by the people who really need to understand it. But I will continue to provide both.

    Posted by marlenedotterer | November 29, 2016, 8:34 am
  4. I am in. As a medical librarian, fake health news is a recurring concern. I’ve managed to convert one FB friend to check Snopes (she previously shared fake cancer remedies). What you can also do is talk up your medical librarian and your public library. They need support as this is one area they’ve been active in for a long time. As an aside, I’m reading a nonfiction about Selfridge – interesting insider history about how advertising, womens magazines and the sell took off in the US and UK.

    Posted by Catherine Voutier | November 29, 2016, 4:42 pm
  5. I am with you all the way, over here in Australia.
    You inspire me.

    Posted by elizabeth2560 | November 29, 2016, 5:48 pm
  6. My previous attempts at blogging have been really unsuccessful, but I’ll try my best.

    Posted by Dendritic Trees | November 30, 2016, 9:21 am
  7. I’ve been doing so! I really appreciate your work and being out there. I saw you speak at ACOG and was inspired!

    Becky Hunt , Portland Maine

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Posted by (null) (null) | November 30, 2016, 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

